Articolo disponibile anche in: Italian

The Premio Letterario Chianti (Chianti Literary Prize) dedicated to contemporary narrative, presents the works of finalists for its 30th anniversary in the towns of Chianti.

To add value to the event, is the presence of a popular jury made up of 35 readers whose judgment is combined with that of the jury to award the final winner.

This year there are seven writers competing, two more in respect to the five previous years of competition. The books, edited from January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016, will be presented from February 18 to May 6, making the rounds of the various townships.

Tradition requires that the final award be presented at the ”Fattoria Castello di Verazzano”, near Greve in Chianti. This will take place on Saturday, May 27, with the presentation of the reproduction on bronze of the painting, ”Allegoria del Chianti” by Giorgio Vasari, reproduced by the master goldsmith, Mauro Bandinelli.

Born in 1987, upon the initiative of the cultural magazine, Stazione di Posta, the Chianti literary prize has been recognized since 2004 as a “ Manifestazione inserita dal Ministero per i Beni e le Attività culturali tra quelle di Rilievo Nazionale” (an event of national importance proposed by the minister for goods and cultural activities), related to the project “Italia Pianeta Libri”, and dependent on the patronage of the City of Florence, the Province of Siena and the Townships of Greve, Barberino Tavarnelle, Castellina in Chianti, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Gaiole in Chianti, Impruneta, Radda in Chianti and San Casciano.

The event also depends on the support of the “Cooperativa Italia Nuova di Greve in Chianti,” (since the event began), the “Società di Mutuo Soccorso e fratellanza of Greve in Chianti” (since the 2014 edition), the Rotary Club of Chianti-San Casciano and the Banca di Credito Cooperativo of Cambiano, beginning this year.

The 30th edition of the prize involves seven writers, chosen by the technical jury as finalists. They will present their own books and also depend upon the judgment of readers.This sum of the two juries will decide the final winner.

The contestants are Giulio Perrone; Simona Lo Iacono; Marco Missiroli; Yigal Leykin; Gianluca Barbera; Patrizio Fiore and Marino Magliani. The seven competing volumes will host seven meetings, in program from February 18 to May 6, all beginning at 5 PM.

The first appointment will take place on Saturday, February 18, in Greve in Chianti, at the Fattoria Castello di Verazzano, with the book by Giulio Perrone, “L’esatto contrario”, edited by Rizzoli.

On Saturday, February 25 at the cinema/theatre, Buondelmonti of Impruneta, the presenter will be Simona Lo Iacono and her book, “Le Streghe di Lenzavacche”, E/O, Editor.

On Saturday, March 11, the literary prize will stop for the first time in Castellina in Chianti, at the Cinema Italia with Marco Missiroli and his book, “Atti osceni in luogo privato”, edited by Feltrinelli.

On Saturday, March 25 it is Yigal Leykin’s turn with “Una Vita Qualunque”, Giuntina editor, which he will present at the Niccolini Town Theatre of San Casciano, and on Saturday, April 1, the event will be the protagonist in Gaiole in Chianti at the Società Filarmonica. Gianluca Barbera will present his book, “La truffa come una delle belle arti”, Compagnia Editoriale Alberti.

On Saturday, April 29, at the Teatro della Filarmonica G.Verdi in San Donato in Poggio, Patrizio Fiore will present his “Il ricamo mortale”, editor, Tullio Pironti, and the last presentation will take place on Saturday, May 6, at the town theatre of Radda in Chianti. Presenting will be Marino Magliani and his book, “Carlos Paz e altre mitologie private,” edited by Amos Edizioni.