Articolo disponibile anche in: Italian

The candidacies and self-nominations for the 2020 edition of the Premio Giulio Gambelli Award – dedicated to the master enologist known as the “Master of Sangiovese” – are now open.

The award, which next year will reach its eighth edition, is promoted by Aset Toscana (Associazione Stampa Enogastroagroalimentare Toscana) and by the IGP network – I Giovani Promettenti, consisting of Lorenzo Colombo, Roberto Giuliani, Carlo Macchi, Luciano Pignataro, Andrea Petrini and Stefano Tesi.

Last year it was won by enologist Angela Fronti, who works at Istine, a wine making company from Radda in Chianti.

Every year the award rewards the enologist whose work best reflects the principles carried out by Giulio Gambelli: the enhancing of the aromatic characteristics of each grape variety, as well as of the territory and the different vintages.

As in the previous editions, a panel of expert journalists will contribute to the selection of the candidates, nominating up to a maximum of five names each.

The enologists who meet eligibility requirements, can nominate themselves as candidates. Applications are open to professionals with a degree in oenology, and up to 40 years old.

The award ceremony will take place on the occasion of the Tuscan wine previews scheduled for February 2020, and the Award will be hosted by the Consorzio del Vino Vernaccia di San Gimignano.

The winner will receive a plaque and a check for 1500 euros, thanks to the support of a few winemaking companies of which Giulio Gambelli was a friend and consultant: Bibbiano, Fattoria di Rodàno, Il Colle, Montevertine, Ormanni, Poggio di Sotto.

The Consorzio Vino Chianti Classico, the Consorzio Vino Nobile di Montepulciano , the Consorzio Vino Brunello di Montalcino and the Consorzio Vernaccia di San Gimignano are still partners of the Award.

The deadline for applications is November 30th 2019. The call for applications can be viewed on the website:

Here is the “Gold Book” with the names of the Gambelli Award winners.

  • Fabrizio Torchio (2013)
  • Gianluca Colombo (2014)
  • Francesco Versio (2015)
  • Sebastian Nasello (2016)
  • Diego Bonato and Luca Faccenda (2017)
  • Luigi Sarno (2018)
  • Angela Fronti (2019)